Louisville, Jefferson County, Kentucky

Until 1792 when Kentucky gained statehood, Louisville was located within the boundaries of the state of Virginia. As Governor of Virginia, Thomas Jefferson signed the first town charter of Louisville in May 1780 in what was then Kentucky County, Virginia. Later that same year, Kentucky County was divided into three counties (Jefferson, Fayette, and Lincoln) with Louisville being situated in Jefferson County, Virginia.